How do I get my Texas License To Carry (LTC)?
- Verify your eligibility.
- Attend a LTC class, pass the written test and pass the range proficiency, and receive a class completion CHL-100 form. For a new applicant, there is a state required 4 hour class. For a renewal applicant, there is no longer a class requirement. Class fee does not include the state application fee.
- Submit an LTC application to the state onlinewith the state required application fee. This state fee is usually $40, unless you are military or prior military, then it may be $25 or even waived altogether.
- Schedule an appointment to get fingerprinted. The cost is usually $9.95. They do not accept cash. This can be scheduled and paid during the online state LTC application process.
- Submit any supporting documents to the state, such as the LTC-100 class completion certificate or a DD-214 Honorable Discharge form.
Eligibilty to obtain a Texas LTC is outlined in the Texas Handgun Laws section GC 411.172. The following is a generalized summary of this section. Review the requirements for eligibility in the Texas Handgun Laws closely before registering for class as class fees are not refundable. Contact us if you have questions regarding eligibility and we will assist you in getting your questions answered.
A person is generally eligible for a license to carry a handgun if the person:
- is a legal resident of this state for six-months prior to the date of application
- is at least 21 years of age or is at least 18 years of age and is a member or veteran of the United States armed forces, including a member or veteran of the reserves or national guard (if discharged then it must be an honorable discharge)
- *has not been convicted of a felony;
- *is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Penal Code Section 42.01, Disorderly Conduct, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
- is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense;
- is not a chemically dependent person;
- *is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
- has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Penal Code Section 42.01, Disorderly Conduct, or equivalent offense;
- is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
- is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
- has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
- has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in a CHL application (submitted pursuant to Section 411.174).
* There are more details in this section of the Texas Handgun Laws regarding felony, misdemeanor, and mental stability.
- Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
- Handgun Use and Safety, including the use of restraint holsters
- Laws that relate to Weapons and the Use of Deadly Force
- Proper Storage Practices
- Range Qualification/Proficiency
And the following:
- Civil Liability
- Reasons for Denial, Suspension, and Revocation
- Renewing your CHL
- Local Enforcement
- Concealing, Carrying & Retention
- What to do when stopped by law enforcement
- Mindset before, during, and after
- What to do after a crisis situation
- Further training recommendations
Prices do not include range fees, fingerprinting, or the state application fee. (Fingerprinting is required to be electronic and is performed at a certified facility).
What to Bring
- Current Drivers License or State Identification
- Eye protection
- Hearing protection
- Cap or hat that will cover the head and the area toward the face (such as a baseball cap) to keep hot brass from going behind your eye protection.
- Footwear must cover the entire foot
- Wear a shirt with a button-up collar or a high collar to the range (to keep hot brass from going down your shirt)
- Handguns – NO manipulation or handling of weapons in parking lots or classrooms! Keep your handgun in your bag or in your vehicle.
- All handguns should be in good working condition and have no modification(s) that will make the handgun unsafe
- Be familiar with your handgun
- There is no time allotted for zeroing in your handgun in this class
- No optical enhancers will be allowed
- Ammunition–NO RELOADED AMMUNITION WILL BE ALLOWED, and NO aluminum cases.) You will need a minimum of 50 rounds, as well as an additional 50 rounds should you fail to qualify the first time. If you do not see your brand of ammo on this S.A.A.M.I. APPROVED AMMUNITION LIST, it is not approved
- BLOUNT, INC. C.C.I./SPEER
- HORNADY MFG. CO.
- FEDERAL CARTRIDGE CO./AMERICAN EAGLE
- REMINGTON ARMS CO./UMC
- FIOCCHI OF AMERICA, INC.
- ACCURATE/ULTRA MAX
- 4W AMMUNITION
- BLACK HILLS
To successfully qualify, shooters must complete the range proficiency course with a minimum score of 70% (175 out of possible 250). If any malfunctions are encountered, the shooter will work through the problem and finish the course of fire. (It is an easy qualification, however, if you fail to qualify the first time, we will allow for a second attempt. If you do not qualify after the second attempt, which has never happened thus far – even with brand new shooters, we will provide you with additional training and re-qualification at a later time). You must bring adequate ammo – 50 rounds per qualification. If you have never shot before, please notify us by email several days before class and we can schedule some additional training, if desired.
There are 3 stages.
Stage 1: Twenty shots (20) will be fired from 3 yards.
Stage 2: Twenty shots (20) will be fired from 7 yards – fired 5 stages.
Stage 3: Ten shots (10) fired from 15 yards – fired in two 5-shot strings.
Fundamental Rules of Firearm Safety
- The firearm is always loaded. Every time you pick up or draw a firearm, control the muzzle. Always treat it as a loaded firearm.
- Always keep the firearm pointed in a safe direction (primary rule). Always point downrange if on the firing line and away from persons/property when not on the firing line. Never point the firearm at something you are not prepared to destroy.
- Always keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot. The trigger finger must remain outside the trigger guard alongside the frame or receiver until ready to shoot; keep all fingers away from the trigger when otherwise handling the gun.
- Always be sure of your target and what is beyond it. Bullets can penetrate lots of things, many of which will surprise you. Identify your target before firing – even before dry-firing at home.
- At the range, always keep the firearm unloaded until ready for use. Keeping the gun unloaded until ready to use greatly enhances safety. “Ready to use” means the gun should be loaded only at the firing line and only when authorized to load (i.e.: during competition).